

MEDIA STATEMENT

To: All Media

Att: News Editors / Transport Reporters

03 June 2020

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Gauteng embarks on phased reopening of DLTCs

The Gauteng Provincial Government has resumed with the phased in reopening of Driver's License Testing Centres (DLTCs) in the province following their closure due to the COVID-19 lockdown regulations.

MEC for Public Transport and Roads Infrastructure Jacob Mamabolo has also expressed his satisfaction with measures put in place to protect employees and clients against possible exposure to Covid-19 and other health risks.

The MEC further commended the municipalities and the Road Traffic Management Corporation for the instrumental role they played in working with the Department on the risk adjusted approach to the reopening of the DLTCs.

"With the gradual reopening of the DLTCs, it is important for members of the public to note that priority will be given to applicants who have confirmed bookings and that there will be no walk-ins, only applicants with valid online booking reference numbers will be allowed onto the premises of centres.

"This is another measure we have put in place to ensure that customers are serviced whilst adhering to social distancing protocols. Customers visiting our centres are also kindly requested to wear masks covering the mouth and nose - **#NoMaskNoEntry** " Mamabolo emphasized.

The MEC further cautioned against flooding of the centres as all driver's licenses, learner's licenses, motor vehicle license discs, temporary driver's licenses, temporary permits, roadworthy certificates and professional driver's permits that expired during the lockdown period would be deemed valid and have been extended for 90 days from 01 June 2020.

"It is important to also note that over 100 SA Post Offices are open for motor vehicle license disc renewal across the province," said Mamabolo.

The following DLTCs are currently operational with others expected to resume services next week:

Sandton DLTC (JHB)
Akasia DLTC (Tshwane)

- 3. Bronkhorstspruit DLTC (Tshwane)
- 4. Centurion DLTC (Tshwane)

The Motor Vehicle Registering Authority ("MVRA") that have resumed services are as follows:

- 1. Sandton MVRA, DLTC and Mini Bulk;
- 2. Roodeport MVRA and Mini Bulk;
- 3. Dube MVRA and Mini Bulk; and
- 4. Wemmer Super Bulk
- 5. Akasia MVRA
- 6. Bronkhorstspruit MVRA
- 7. Centurion MVRA
- 8. Saambou Bulk Centre and 9. Specialised Licensing Bulk Centre

The following centres are expected to resume gradual reopening from next week:

- 1. Bedfordview DLTC
- 2. Alberton DLTC
- 3. Kempton Park DLTC
- 4. Tsakane DLTC
- 5. Nigel DLTC
- 6. Brakpan DLTC
- 7. Edenvale DLTC
- 8. Kagiso DLTC
- 9. Kliptown DLTC
- 10. Xavier DLTC
- 11. Maponya Mall DLTC
- 12. Mabopane DLTC

ENDS!

For more information, contact the Department of Roads and Transport's Theo Nkonki on 082 719 6404 or Melitah Madiba on 073 644 9935. E-mail: <u>PressOffice.gpdrt@gauteng.gov.za</u>